Priola Bill to Encourage Competitive Schools Passes Committee

DENVER — Today, the Senate Education Committee passed Senator Kevin Priola's (R-Brighton) Rewarding Excellence with Annual Redirected Dollars (REWARD) Act. 

Senate Bill 17-200 regroups all district legacy public and charter schools as "rural" or "non-rural," and rewards the top 12 performers among peer district cohorts  for competitive growth and achievement. 

Under the REWARD Act, the top 12 achieving school districts in each group--based on assessments and measures set forth by Department of Education--will be awarded with excellence funding. 

The Department shall distribute 15 percent of excellence funding to the top 12 performing school districts in equal shares, and 85 percent of the funding to the remaining school districts on a per-pupil basis.

The REWARD Act creates a healthy, positive competitive education atmosphere, encouraging students and teachers to excel and reach their highest potential. 

"Our culture flourishes with a little friendly competition," said Priola. "Here in Colorado, we're constantly pioneering new, innovative legislation and encouraging schools to work harder to improve will stay true to our tradition of innovation by teaching our kids to work hard for their futures, while funding our schools." 

The REWARD Act now moves to a vote of the Committee on Appropriations. 

Do you like this post?

Be the first to comment

Signup for Email Updates